Illuminated Nocks

Many bowhunters have begun using illuminated nocks.  An illuminated nock gives you a better shot at finding a fired arrow, gives you a better shot at finding a hit deer (if the arrow stays in), and you can see the arrow in flight better than you can without an illuminated nock.

Jeff at deerpros.com has written a review of the Nocturnal illuminated nocks.  (I swiped a picture of his.)

Nockturnal-Lighted-Nock-Review-close-up-image-168x300

It seems that he has rated Nocturnal nocks at 9.3/10 which is high praise.  Rather than his overall score though, I am impressed with his 10/10 reliability rating.

I have not used an illuminated nock becasue I seriously dislike adding anything to my hunting setup.  More things means more things to go wrong.  I even deer hunted with a recurve for a year, not because I wanted to be more traditional or becasue I wanted more of a challenge but, because with a traditional bow there is only a bow, a string, an arrow, a broadhead, and me.  That is many fewer parts and many fewer parts to go wrong than you have on a compound bow.

Because of my part time job in a bow shop I have played with and fixed all sorts of things like nocks.  From everything that I have seen and done myself, I agree with Jeff that the Luminock is less reliable and more difficult to use.

There have been several customers who have been happy with Luminocks, but I’ve also heard (third-hand only) about people who are happy with *cringe* Barnett crossbows.

The Nockturnal is easier to use and is simpler to understand how it works, both are advantages.  Rather than repeat much of what Jeff has written, I’ll suggest that you read his review.

I do have a few additional points to add:

  • Get the right size nock (S, G, H, X, GT) for your arrow
  • You install them merely by pressing them in
  • Make sure that you line the new nock up correctly (same as the one you removed)
  • Nockturnals last for 20 “on” hours (or so they say) and then you get new ones, no new batteries
  • Nockturnals weigh 20 grain, s a random S nock that I weighed weighed 16 grains (a miniscule, but there, difference)
  • Buy green, not red, illuminated nocks (Read next Monday’s post for why)

Since these nocks have been tested my others (the best way to test stuff) and their reliability has been stellar (I have heard no complaints) I will likely try out some green Nockturnals this year.

Leave a Reply

